Lima Al-Azzeh

It’s Story Time! I,Vancouverite at Rain City Chronicles

In Vancouver Events on November 8, 2010 at 4:43 pm

Rain City Chronicles - Vancouver Storytelling

I’ve always loved a good story, whether fact or fiction, whether  I’m the one hearing it or telling it, I’ve always found the act of recanting tales to be a deeply intimate experience. Even if the stories are completely hilarious, slightly exaggerated, or just plain inappropriate, it’s the simple act of sharing a part of one’s experience, intelligence, and philosophy that I find to be the ultimate tie that binds. Storytelling is, after all, an age old tradition preceding even my beloved written word. That’s why I’m honoured to be a part of this month’s Rain City Chronicles. The theme? “Mixed Messages”.

Rain City Chronicles is the brainchild of two talented ladies named Lizzy Karp and Karen Pinchin. It’s a series of storytelling evenings, each evening featuring stories from an eclectic group of Vancouverites. No, these people aren’t all out-of-work artists and actors, they represent the myriads of cultures, professions, and lifestyles that make up our beloved city of glass. From chefs to academics, to “the guy who sells you CDs”, this event does not discriminate.

That’s not all, each event also includes musical performances by local f up-and-comers as well as an array of fresh baked goods and tasty beverages.

And the irony of ironies? Neither of the girls who spearhead this event are actually born and bred Vancouverites. Leave it to two people who aren’t from here to come up with a brilliant idea to help remedy Vancouver of its “clique” reputation. I think it’s about time.

I’ve thought a lot lately about how far my life has come here in Vancouver. I went from a sheepish, insecure girl who never felt like she really belonged anywhere to someone who feels like she can fit in anywhere. I am finally a part of so many communities here, all of which are colliding serendipitously. With every person I meet, with each story I tell or hear, with every community that is created by those around me that I am privileged enough to share in and be a part of, I realize that this is what it feels like to be home.

With all of that said, I am extremely lucky to have been asked to present a 3 to 7 minute story on the theme of “Mixed Messages” for Rain City Chronicles – a theme I know all too much about . I won’t go into the details of my tale here, you’ll have to come down to The Wise Hall (1882 Adanac Street) on November 17th and hear me out! And if you’re not into stories, maybe the homemade baked goods that accompany every event will sway you …

Make sure to buy your tickets in advance and please help support this wonderful, Vancouver lovin’ event.

Proceeds from each event go towards hosting the next storytelling session so if you’re so inclined do cough up an extra buck or two.

(See Vancouver? I told you I’d make up for cheating on you …)

  1. Congratulations! How very exciting that you’ll get to present a story. Can’t wait to hear about it.

    *Kelsey

  2. Felt so hopeless looking for aswrnes to my questions…until now.

Leave a Reply

