Lima Al-Azzeh

My Interview in WestEnder for the 3-Day Novel Contest

In Vancouver Events on August 26, 2010 at 9:34 am

WestEnder 08/25/2010

What would possibly possess a twenty-five year old female in the “prime” of her youth to hole herself up over the Labour day long weekend with nothing but a laptop and her nerves to attempt to concoct and complete a novel in 3 measly days? The answer is simple. Fame.

Ok, so that isn’t even a little bit true. Truth be told, I had a bit of an “aspiring writer” crisis about a month ago. I’ve talked all my life of being a dedicated writer who just worked, worked, worked on developing all her ideas and then releasing said ideas into the world for pleasure and profit alike. Recently though, it dawned on me that my considerable lack of writing samples (for all my “brilliant” ideas to date) had only proved that I had failed, failed, failed.

I suffered a bit of a (major) crisis of confidence and slid down the rabbit-hole of doubt as I questioned my abilities and drive to really get this whole writing business going. I needed some advice from someone I knew had nothing but drive, my friend Doug.

I met Doug in Toronto in 2007 when we were both paying our dues by working at Milestones in an effort to keep ourselves afloat on the way to the top. I had no doubts, after a few run ins with Doug, that he’d be well on his way in no time at all. I encouraged him to thieve as many “free spinach dip” cards as possible, sensing that the end was nigh.

But I digress …

I sent Doug an email asking for advice, inspiration, or just about anything he could spare to tell me about what it takes to become a “writer”. To my great benefit, I received an email from “Professional Doug”; and it didn’t even incur a fee.

“Professional Doug” basically told me to quit my bitching, quit my philsophizing, quit being weak and just do it. Just write. But don’t just write, write obsessively. Not only that, but read the best and then, try to do it better.

It was the best email and professional advice I’d received in a very long time, and I didn’t even have to drown myself in student loans to get it.

In a twist of, what I can only surmise as, fate a few days after receiving “Professional Doug’s” email I saw a tweet from Melissa Edwards, Managing Editor of the 3-Day Novel Contest. The tweet was basically a call out for first-timers from Vancouver to enter the contest. It dawned on me that perhaps something cosmic was at work here. God was giving me a major kick in the ass, and I couldn’t just turn the other cheek. At first, a little panic ensued, but thankfully only for about 45 minutes.

50 minutes, and a 50 dollar registration fee, later I had registered to challenge myself to the ultimate writer commitment. Write a novel in 3 days.

So that’s what brings us to this: My interview in the WestEnder with Arts Editor Steven Schelling about being the newbie in the 3-Day Novel contest. Not to take all the glory for myself, the piece also features interviews with veteran Kimberly Davidson and former “accidental winner” Brendan McLeod.

Although I’m happy to be in great company, I am now more nervous than ever after having exposed myself to the public like this. At the end of the day, I guess there’s just one thing left to do … write.

  1. Buckets and buckets of good luck to you, next weekend, from a gal in the same boat! (I figure that it’ll just be nice to finish something . . . provided I finish the 3DNC, natch.)

    Have fun! πŸ™‚

    • Good luck to you too!! The panic has set in slightly but I remain hopeful. We’ll catch up afterwards and compare notes I’m sure πŸ˜‰

  2. Good luck good luck good luck – you’ll be great!

    • Thanks so much Tracy!! Means a lot to met hat you stopped by to wish me luck πŸ™‚ I’m sure I’ll pen some pre-novel and post-novel blog posts πŸ˜‰ Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

